Sunday, June 18, 2017


Photo courtesy of Jason McConnell
Ryan Taylor started on the pole of the regular 25-lap 410-sprint car main with Blane Heimbach starting second.

The initial start was red-flagged when Joey Hershey turned over in the third turn, collecting Curt Stroup and TJ Stutts.

After the stoppage, the event went non-stop to the finish with leader Taylor entering the backmarkers with 15 laps to go.

Taylor kept nearly a straightaway between himself and pursuer Heimbach for most of the event but with less than 10 laps to go, Heimbach began chewing into the lead.

It was clear with five laps to go that Taylor was losing speed in the third and fourth turns while Heimbach was gaining with every tour.

It took until lap 23 for Heimbach to finally take advantage of a slipping Taylor when he was able to ride the inside lane underneath Taylor for the lead as the pair headed for the two-to-go sign.

Taylor came back for a brief moment in the first turn as Heimbach rolled the top and Taylor tried getting back by with an low side move.

But Heimbach dropped off of the cushion to again take control and run to the finish by .944 seconds, worth $3,200.

Taylor settled for second followed by Trey Starks, Dylan Cisney and Trenton Sheaffer.

Sixth through 10th went to Mike Wagner, Justin Barger, Brock Zearfoss, Steve Buckwalter and TJ Stutts.

Heats went to Stutts and Heimbach.

Stay up to date with all the latest Port Royal news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at or by following the track on Facebook or Twitter.

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Blane Heimbach, 2. Ryan Taylor, 3. Trey Starks, 4. Dylan Cisney, 5. Trenton Sheaffer, 6. Mike Wagner, 7. Justin Barger, 8. Brock Zearfoss, 9. Steve Buckwalter, 10. TJ Stutts, 11. AJ Flick, 12. Jordan Givler, 13. Frankie Herr, 14. Dustin Baney, 15. James Pryde, 16. Greg Hodnett, 17. Aaron Ott, 18. Joey Hershey, 19. Curt Stroup

DNS: Tyler Esh

No comments: