Saturday, June 17, 2017


Selinsgrove Speedway fended off the rain while Lucas Wolfe of Mechanicsburg fended off Brock Zearfoss of Jonestown for the victory in Friday night’s 30-lap Ray Tilley Classic for 410 sprint cars.

It was Wolfe’s second win in a row at the track in 410 sprint car competition after having won the National Open last September, the last time the 410 sprints competed at the track.

The victory, Wolfe’s third career at Selinsgrove and fifth overall this season, was worth $4,088 plus the custom crystal trophy cup from the Tilley family.

Andrew Yoder of Middleburg won his second straight 355 econo late model race at the track in the division’s 15-lap main event.

TJ Stutts and Lucas Wolfe shared the front row for the start of the sprint car main event with Wolfe grabbing the lead down the backstretch. Fourth-place starter Brock Zearfoss raced underneath Stutts at the same time and began his pursuit of the leader.

By lap six, Wolfe began to encounter slower traffic as Zearfoss raced second, followed by Stutts, and third-place starter Danny Dietrich. At the halfway point, Zearfoss began to close in on Wolfe in a high-speed chase around the Superspeedway of Dirt Track Racing.

With eight laps to go, Zearfoss almost got within striking distance in traffic. The race’s first and only caution flag unfurled on lap 25 when fifth-place runner Jason Shultz blew a tire and parked his sprinter sideways in turns one and two.

When the race resumed, Wolfe maintained the front spot with Zeafoss in tow. The final two laps saw Dietrich power by Stutts for the third position. At the checkered flag, Wolfe was victorious by just two seconds over Zearfoss, Deitrch, Stutts, and Aaron Ott.

Polesitter Tim Fedder led the start of the econo late model main event. A close battle unfolded at the front of the pack between Fedder, Todd Snook, and Shaun Miller. On the second circuit, second-place starter Andrew Yoder reclaimed the position and set his sights on the leader.

On a lap five restart, Yoder took the lead from Fedder with an inside through turn two. Fedder later brought out the caution flag for a flat tire and rejoined the race. Yoder continued to set the pace and posted a mere 1.39 second margin of victory over Miller, Fedder, Devin Hart, and Jared Fulkroad.

410 Sprint Cars – 20 Entries
30-Lap A-Main: 1) 24 Lucas Wolfe 2) 3Z Brock Zearfoss 3) 48 Danny Dietrich 4) 11 TJ Stutts 5) 25 Aaron Ott 6) 27 Greg Hodnett 7) 39 Anthony Macri 8) 1W Eric Tomecek 9) 75 Frankie Herr 10) 29 Jason Shultz 11) 12 Blane Heimbach 12) 44 Trey Starks 13) 29S Derek Steward 14) 24B Dustin Baney 15) 28F Davie Franek 16) 49 Mallie Shuster 17) C4 Jim Shuster 18) 5B Justin Barger 19) Freddie Rahmer 20) 49H Bradley Howard
Heat Winners: Aaron Ott, Trey Starks, Greg Hodnett

Time Trials: 1) 11 TJ Stutts 16.419 2) 24 Lucas Wolfe 16.538 3) 48 Danny Dietrich 16.560 4) 3Z Brock Zearfoss 16.563 5) 29 Jason Shultz 16.577 6) 1W Eric Tomecek 16.590 7) 25 Aaron Ott 16.634 8) 44 Trey Starks 16.703 9) 27 Greg Hodnett 16.773 10) 49 Mallie Shuster 16.774 11) 39 Anthony Macri 16.803 12) 75 Frankie Herr 16.920 13) 12 Blane Heimbach 16.649 14) 28F Davie Franek 17.140 15) 5B Justin Barger 17.149 16) C4 Jim Shuster 17.232 17) 24B Dustin Baney 17.463 18) 29S Derek Steward 18.317 19) 49H Bradley Howard DNT 20) 51 Freddie Rahmer DNT

Econo Late Models – 10 Entries
15-Lap A-Main: 1) 2 Andrew Yoder 2) 115S Shaun Miller 3) 24 Tim Fedder 4) 33K Devin Hart 5) 12K Jared Fulkroad 6) 7K Kenny Yoder 7) 79 Chase Bowsman 8) 30 Andy Snyder 9) 15 Luke Hoffner 10) 23 Todd Snook

No comments: