Sunday, April 28, 2019

Smith lands 360 sprint in Victory Lane at Port Royal

PORT ROYAL, PENNSYLVANIA – Following an exciting 25-lap feature, Ryan Smith parked his No. 72 360 sprint car in Victory Lane Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway.

Smith took the green flag from the outside of the fourth row in eighth, but got a good jump on the start and was up to second as the field hurtled down the backstretch.

Lucas Wolfe held the pole for the start, sharing the front row with Brian Carber, and jumped out to the early lead heading into Turn 1. Smith, Carber, Curt Michael and Austin Bishop fell in line behind him on the first lap.

A caution was brought out on the first lap for Steve Drevicki, who got backwards in Turns 1 and 2 and on the restart, Carber found himself backward in the same place.

Wolfe led Smith, Michael, Chad Layton and Bishop on the restart, holding the lead with Smith all over the rear bumper of his car.

Wolfe pulled away from Smith before reaching lapped traffic on Lap 7, giving Smith the chance to close the gap between their two cars. Smith came close in Turns 3 and 4 of Lap 12 before Wolfe pulled away once again two laps later.

However, on Lap 18, Smith’s opportunity showed itself as he dove low under Wolfe to emerge from the corner with the lead before pulling away in traffic.

Smith claimed the checkered flag, followed by Wolfe, Steve Buckwalter, Bishop and Josh Weller. Rounding out the top 10 were Layton, Michael, Adam Carberry, Ed Aiken and Derek Locke.

Buckwalter won the first heat, with Smith and Bishop also claiming heat race wins. Aiken took the checkered flag in the B-Main.

After Saturday’s competition, Layton leads the 2019 Capitol Renegade United Racing Club point standings, followed by Weller, Michael, Jason Shultz and Bishop.

The next URC-sanctioned event will take place Friday, May 10 at Bedford Speedway, and will also feature a make-up A-Main from 2018. They will then compete Saturday, May 11 at Delaware International Speedway.

The 360 sprint cars will also join the ASCS this coming weekend at Williams Grove Speedway and Selinsgrove Speedway on Friday, May 3 and Saturday, May 4



A-MAIN (25 LAPS) – 1: Ryan Smith (72); 2: Lucas Wolfe (5W); 3: Steve Buckwalter (7); 4: Austin Bishop (11b); 5: Josh Weller (63); 6: Chad Layton (35); 7: Curt Michael (5G); 8: Adam Carberry (47); 9: Ed Aiken (7A); 10: Derek Locke (77); 11: Jason Shultz (29); 12: Davie Franek (28F); 13:  Michael Walter II (33); 14: Todd Gracey (3); 15: Tyler Ross (5); 16: Bill Unglert (33B); 17: Eddie Strada (42E); 18: Steven Drevicki (19); 19: Tyler Denochick (6); 20: Ryan Stillwaggon (11); 21: Tyler Carter (23); 22: Ryan Quackenbush (5Q); 23: Tyler Breham (21R); 24: Brian Carber (8C). DNS – Chris Allen Jr., Jason Cherry, Troy Betts, Jason Clauss.


The United Racing Club is a traveling 360 sprint car organization that was founded in 1947. Following the value “It’s your club, it’s racing the way you want it,” URC is governed by its own membership and runs at local dirt tracks across the northeast. For more information, please visit or find us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


Catherine Hogue


No comments: