Saturday, June 15, 2019

Norris and Bowser Dominate; Williamson Returns To Victory Lane; Dietz Tames Stocks

Sarver, PA (June 14, 2019) The weather was perfect for a special evening as drivers, fans and the entire Lernerville family helped pay tribute to the late Chad McCutcheon with the running of the inaugural Chad McCutcheon Memorial.  Meanwhile, the annual Mid Season Championships produced some great racing and saw drivers punch their tickets to our crown jewel events in all divisions.

Carl Bowser simply could not be caught in the Peoples Natural Gas Sprint Car main event as he started on the front row and never looked back, putting a stacked field of competitors behind him en route to Terry Bowser Victory Lane. Bowser maneuvered through lapped traffic with precision and purpose and pegged several late race restarts while behind him, AJ Flick and Jack Sodeman Jr. took part in a hard fought and clean battle for the runner up spot. Bowser’s victory earned him a automatic starting spot in the upcoming Don Martin Memorial Silver Cup.

In much the same way, Michael Norris led the lion’s share of laps in the Precise Racing Products Late Model main event and was dominant throughout all 25 laps. The defending track champion seemingly ran away from the field, building up a near half track advantage over the battle behind him between Colton Flinner, Jared Miley and Ken Schaltenbrand. Norris delivered a performance that fans know all to well in a car that was unfamiliar to some as he found himself driving for car owner Todd Cerenzia. The win gave Norris an automatic starting spot this coming Saturday in the finale of the Firecraker 100.

The feature of the night and one of the best of the year to this point belonged to the Diehl Automotive Big Block Modifieds. Dave Murdick started on the pole and stretched out an early lead, looking very much like the car to beat. However, Jeremiah Shingledecker emerged and got faster during the middle portion of the race with Murdick mired in lapped traffic.  Chasing both of them was four time track champion Mat Williamson who rocketed forward from his 11th starting spot to join the party at the front of the field. Williamson found himself running third at the halfway point and ran down the front runners as the laps wound down, setting the stage for a fantastic finish. Once around Shingledecker for the second spot on lap 22 and set his sights on Murdick, capturing the lead on a pass in the last set of turns in a thrilling chase to the checkers.

In Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar/RUSH Pro Stock action. Coming from his 11th starting spot, Tyler Dietz overcame a strong running Joey Zambotti after an early restart and then held off defending champion Corey McPherson to preserve his second win of the season. The victory gave him an automatic starting spot in September’s Pro Stock Pandemonium event.

You can check out live audio from the track including victory lane interviews, race analysis and recaps and feature interviews with Michael Norris and Mat Williamson by checking out tonight’s Action Track Podcast, recorded live after racing on Friday.

To listen to Friday night’s show CLICK HERE

Peoples Natural Gas DIRTcar 410 Sprint Feature: (25 Laps)

1. (11) Carl Bowser
2. (2) AJ Flick
3. (23jr) Jack Sodeman Jr.
4. (22) Brandon Spithaler
5. (08) Dan Kuriger
6. (76) Davey Jones
7. (250) Jared McFarland
8. (23) Darren Pifer
9. (56) Ralph Spithaler
10. (91) Sadie Siegel
11. (44M) Joe McEwen
12. (4K) Kip Edwards
13. (14) Jeremy Hill
14. (4N) Jimmy Morris
15. (33) Brent Matus
16. (1) Brandon Fredericks
17. (42) Sye Lynch
18. (7K) Dan Shetler
19. (6) Todd Burgard
20. (13) Brandon Matus
21. (38) Leyton Wagner
22. (55) Gary Kriess Jr.

Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models Feature: (25 Laps)

1. (72) Michael Norris
2. (48) Colton Flinner
3. (10) Jared Miley
4. (4) Alex Ferree
5. (29) Ken Schaltenband
6. (77) Tyler Dietz
7. (27) Michael Lake
8. (111) Matt Lux
9. (14R) Clay Ruffo
10. (15*) Kelvin Kohan
11. (81) Chuck Sarver
12. (92) Jayme Beck
13. (23) Tony Burke
14. (9) Clayton Kennedy
15. (B8) Tom Bateman- Did Not Start
16. (1C) Mike Pegher Jr.- Did Not Start
17. (11) Joshua Powell- Did Not Start

Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Northeast Big Block Modified Feature: (25 Laps)

1. (6M) Mat Williamson
2. (61) Dave Murdick
3. (37MD) Jeremiah Shingledecker
4. (165) Rex King Jr.
5. (83) Brian Swartzlander
6. (29) Garrett Krummert
7. (4M) Greg Martin
8. (75) Jeff Miller
9. (13) Rick Regalski
10. (18) Colton Walters
11. (45) Steve Feder
12. (25) Chris Rudolph
13. (71) Randy Chronister
14. (27R) Dave Reges
15. (A51) Bill Barr
16. (65) Rex King Sr.
17. (12W) Travis Walsh- Did Not Start
18. (83T) Tom Glenn- Did Not Start

Millerstown Pic-A-Part RUSH/DIRTcar Pro Stocks Feature: (20 Laps)

1. (27) Tyler Dietz
2. (C33) Corey McPherson
3. (13X) Ryan Moyer
4. (948) Joey Zambotti
5. (32) Mark Sanders
6. (10) John Hartman
7. (29B) Scott Byers
8. (26) Mike Bordt
9. (25) Brett McDonald
10. (17) Sam Eichelberger
11. (310) Dale Tuche
12. (35b) Jake Dietz
13. (22jr) Chase Lambert
14. (66) Joe Kelly- DQ

No comments: