Sunday, June 16, 2019


SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Jason Shultz of Carlisle defeated a star-studded field of Patriot 360 sprint cars to win the $2,271 top prize in the 25-lap Joe Whitcomb Memorial Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Shultz, driving the Horstcraft Millworks No. 29, recorded his third win of the year and was also the night’s Fast Tees Fast Qualifier over the 25-car field with a lap time of 16.726, a new track record for the 360 sprint cars.

Andy Haus of Hamburg made a late-race pass for his $2,000 win in the 25-lap super late model race. Haus became the seventh different late model feature winner in as many races at the speedway this season.

Shaun Lawton of Bloomsburg wired the pro stock field for his second win in a row in the division’s 15-lap race, while Dustin Snook of McClure returned to Victory Lane for the first time in two years in the 12-lap roadrunner feature.

Selinsgrove Speedway will be back in action at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, June 22 with the United Racing Club-sanctioned 30-lap Kramer Cup for 360 sprint cars plus super late models, Mid-Atlantic modifieds, and pro stocks sponsored by Reinhart Food Service. Gates will open at 5:00 pm.

Derek Locke shot into the sprint car feature lead from the pole and was followed by, Jason Shultz, Mallie Schuster, Cody Keller and Kyle Reinhardt.

A lap one red flag came out when Brian Nornhold slammed the fourth turn wall and flipped.  Nornhold was uninjured.

When the race resumed Locke and Shultz checked out.  Shultz stalked Locke and on lap seven rolled high in the second turn and took the lead.

Schuster, Reinhardt and Keller entertained the fans with a great battled for third.  Reinhardt got by Keller and was all over Shuster as the pair sliced through lapped traffic.

In the closing laps, Locke again drew to the back of Shultz as Shuster tracked down Locke but it was Shultz winning by .749 seconds over Locke, Shuster, Keller and Reinhardt.

Sprint car heats were won by Davie Franek, Jared Zimbardi, and Reinhardt. Shultz set a new track record in time trials of 16.762 seconds.

Front row starter Nick Dickson grabbed the late model lead down the backstretch over Andy Haus, Tim Wilson, Donnie Schick and Kenny Trevitz.  A big pileup on the back stretch brought out the red flag as the track was blocked.  Dave Brouse Jr., Jeff Rine, Dave Zona, Dylan Yoder, Nathan Long and Mike Lupfer were all involved with several cars towed from the scene.

As the top three started to open up a lead, Coleby Frye was moving up from the back of the pack.  As Dickson worked the traffic Haus drew to his rear bumper and on lap 18 drove under Dickson for the lead in turn two.

Once in front, Haus was never headed beating Dickson by 1.298 seconds. Wilson, Schick and Randy Christine rounded out the top five.

Dickson, Haus and Frye won late model heat races. Mike Lupfer won the B-Main.

With the top two drivers in the point standings unable to start the feature, Shaun Lawton, third in points, jumped into the lead at the waving of the green flag to start the pro stock feature.  He was followed by Lori Croop, AJ Stroup, AJ Hoffman and John Schoch. 

As Lawton checked out, Croop and Stroup battled for the runner up spot until Croop spun and slammed the inside wall bringing out the red flag. Croop walked away from the incident.

Lawton led the rest of the distance winning by 2.411seconds over Stroup, Hoffman, Schoch and Corey Long

Pro stock heats went to, Lawton and Stroup

Bob Bussey took the roadrunner lead followed by Dustin Snook, Will Brunson, Terry Kramer and Jake Jones.  Snook in only his second time out in his new car drove past Bussey down the back stretch on lap three. 

The top three ran under a blanket but it was Snook taking the win over Bussey, Brunson, Kramer and Jones.

Roadrunner heats were won by Bussey and Kramer.

360 Sprints – 25 Entries
25-Lap A-Main:  1) 29 Jason Shultz  2) 77 Derek Locke  3) 49 Mallie Shuster  4) 99K Cody Keller  5) 1W Kyle Reinhardt  6) 35 Chad Layton  7) 98 Joe Trenca  8) 28F Davie Franek  9) 33W Michael Walter  10) 47 Adam Carberry  11) 35 Jared Zimbardi  12) 66 Ryan Kissinger  13) 79 Jordan Thomas  14) 47 Kyle Drum  15) 19 Colby Womer  16) 6 Tyler Denockick  17) 17 Josh Azzi  18) 22R Mike Koehler  19) 1 Jake Hummel  20) 67 Pete Richardson  21) 07 Curt Stroup  22) 16L Roger Levesque  23) 3 Todd Gracey  24) 11 Jim Shuster  25) 5N Brian Nornhold
Heat Winners:  Davie Franek, Jared Zimbardi, Kyle Reinhardt

Time Trials:  1) 29 Jason Shultz 16.726 (new track record)  2) 3 Todd Gracey 16.826 3) 1W Kyle Reinhardt 16.870  4) 47 Kyle Drum 16.943  5) 33W Michael Walter 17.112  6) 77 Derek Locke 17.132  7) 98 Joe Trenca 17.138  8) 99K Cody Keller 17.148  9) 47 Adam Carberry 17.1762  10) 28F Davie Franek 17.196  11) 35 Jared Zimbardi 17.209  12) 49 Mallie Shuster 17.250  13) 66 Ryan Kissinger 17.279  14) 11 Jim Shuster 17.329  15) 79 Jordan Thomas 17.368  16) 35 Chad Layton 17.379  17) 67 Pete Richardson 17.499  18) 17 Josh Azzi 17.610  19) 19 Colby Womer 17.698  20) 07 Curt Stroup 17.789  21) 22R Mike Koehler 18.086  22) 5N Brian Nornhold 18.088  23) 1 Jake Hummel 18.119  24) 16L Roger Levesque 18.427  25) 6 Tyler Denochick DNT

Late Models – 29 Entries
25-Lap A-Main:  1) 76 Andy Haus  2) 17 Nick Dickson  3) 3 Tim Wilson  4) 6 Donnie Schick  5) 74 Randy Christine  6) 27 Jim Yoder  7) 9 Hayes Mattern  8) 61 Ken Trevitz  9) F1 Coleby Frye  10) 4S Danny Snyder  11) 171 Bryan Bernheisel  12) 26 Jerry Bard  13) 7M Meade Hahn  14) 6Y Andrew Yoder  15) 0B Brett Schadel  16) 14Z Dave Brouse Jr.  17) 10 Dave Stamm  18) 07 Kevin Palmer  19) 31 Denny Superko  20) 63 Nathan Long  21) 24 Dylan Yoder  22) 06 Mike Lupfer  23) 99Z Dave Zona  24) 2J Jeff Rine
Heat Winners:  Nick Dickson, Andy Haus, Coleby Frye
B-Main Winner:  Mike Lupfer

Pro Stocks – 10 Entries
15-Lap A-Main:  1) 92 Shaun Lawton  2) 26 AJ Stroup  3) 6C AJ Hoffman  4) 89 John Schoch  5) 00 Cory Long  6) 77T John Troxell  7) 55 Lori Croop  8) 69 Noah Kissinger  9) 99 Kyle Bachman  10) 8M Brandon Moser
Heat Winners:  Shaun Lawton, AJ Stroup

Roadrunners – 12 Entries
12-Lap A-Main:  1) 15 Dustin Snook  2) 76 Bob Bussey  3) 8 Will Brunson  4) 992 Terry Kramer  5) 7J Jake Jones  6) 33 Curtis Lawton  7) 3 Tom Brunson  8) 15 Hunter Shelley  9) 60 Jimmy Kessler  10) 28M Miranda Minium  11) 14 Cory Lindenmuth  12) 1 Smith Cope
Heat Winners:  Bob Bussey, Terry Kramer

No comments: