Sunday, August 11, 2019


SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Jared Miley of Pittsburgh extended his points lead in the Ultimate Northeast Late Model Series with his $3,000 win in Saturday night’s 30-lap Showdown on Sand Hill at Selinsgrove Speedway.

The victory was Miley’s second of the season in the series and his first career at Selinsgrove Speedway. He became the 11th different winner in 12 races this season in the super late model division, making it one of the most competitive seasons in late model history at the track. 

Jason Covert of York was the night’s fast qualifier over the star-studded 33-car field with a lap time of 19.255.

Lebanon’s Devin Adams won the 20-lap PASS/IMCA 305 sprint car feature.

Brandon Moser of Middleburg won the 15-lap pro stock race and Jake Jones of Hunlock Creek was the winner of the 12-lap roadrunner race.

Selinsgrove Speedway is back in action at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 17, with the 360 sprint cars, limited late models, pro stocks, and annual Roadrunner 20 championship race. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.

Dylan Yoder and Greg Satterlee led the field to the start of the Ultimate Northeast Late Model Series feature, with Satterlee rocketing to the lead.  Jason Covert, Gene Knaub, and Jared Miley were in the top five.

Satterlee, who won on Friday at Path Valley Speedway, saw a nice lead wiped out on lap eight when Billy Wampler stopped on the speedway.

Using the Delaware restarts, Satterlee chose the outside and maintained the lead when the race resumed.

Miley and Jeff Rine found something on the bottom of the track and moved into the top five.  The yellow flag flew again on lap 10 for debris on the speedway.

Yoder drifted high on the restart and Miley, Covert, Rine, and Shaun Jones got by. 

Miley turned on the afterburners, went after Satterlee, and blew by him coming off turn four on lap12.

Track points leader Coleby Frye slowed with a blown tire on lap 22 wiping out a sizable points lead going into the night.

Satterlee pressured Miley high and Yoder drove back into third.  With five to go Miley was able to gain some breathing room but a third turn spin tightened the field for a green-white-checkered finish.

Miley led the rest of the distance winning over Satterlee, Yoder, Cosner, and Jason Covert.

“I was nervous on that last restart, “ Miley said in Victory Lane.  “We had four or five of the best drivers on the east coast here and to beat them is amazing. This is an all new car tonight but we learned a lot from before and put that setup in the car.”

Satterlee, Miley, Knaub, and Yoder won the late model heats.  Tim Wilson won the consolation.

Devin Adams led the first lap of the 305 sprint car feature but all eyes were on Garrett Bard who rode the rail to second.  Dylan Proctor, Zach Newlin, and Jaremi Hanson followed.

Bard, a relative newcomer to sprint car racing, challenged Adams after a few restarts but Adams was able to horsepower away to maintain the lead.  Newlin soon challenged and passed Bard for second.

Jake Waters stopped on the front stretch to bring out a lap 13 caution.

Newlin and Hanson started a battle for second with Hanson taking over on lap 15 as Ken Duke moved forward to the fourth spot.

Hanson, using the high groove, put the Ort Racing 36 sprinter beside Adams but could not get past for the lead.

Adams won by .597 seconds over Hanson, Newlin, Duke, and Bard.

“I knew I was going to have to deal with Duke, sooner or later,” Adams said of the winner of the last two events at the speedway.  “Each time the caution came out there was somebody different in second and I kept looking for him.”

305 sprint car heats went to Bard, Adams, and Kenny Heffner.

Brandon Moser grabbed the early lead in the pro stock feature followed by, Kyle Bachman, Corey Long, Shaun Lawton, and Jason Smith followed.

Moser opened a big lead as Bachman and Lawton battled for second.

Moser led the entire distance for his second consecutive win followed by Bachman, Lawton, John Schoch, and Corey Long.

The pro stock heat went to Corey Long.

Dustin Snook drove away from the traffic jam at the front of the roadrunner feature followed by Bob Bussey, Jake Jones, Will Brunson, and Tom Underwood.

Jones used a restart to draw even with Snook as Curtis Lawton joined the party.  Jones slid into the lead on lap five as Snook and Lawton made contact Keith Bissinger challenged the pair.

Jones led the rest of the distance for his fourth win of the season over Snook, Lawton, Underwood and Smith Cope.

Snook and Jones were victorious in the roadrunner heats.

Late Models – 33 Entries
30-Lap A-Main:  1) 10M Jared Miley  2) 22 Gregg Satterlee  3) 24 Dylan Yoder  4) 66c Matt Cosner  5) 72 Jason Covert  6) 32 Shaun Jones  7) 119 Bryan Bernheisel  8) 31 Jim Bernheisel  9) 11 Austin Hubbard  10) 76 Andy Haus  11) 9 Hayes Mattern  12) 61 Ken Trevitz  13) 43a Tyler Bare  14) 6 Donnie Schick  15) 27 Jim Yoder  16) 11 Jason Schmidt  17) 46 Dan Green  18) F1 Coleby Frye  19) 74 Randy Christine  20) 2J Jeff Rine  21) 11 Marvin Winters  22) 26 Jerry Bard  23) 3 Tim Wilson  24) 1 Gene Knaub  25) 1W Billy Wampler
Heat Winners:  Gregg Satterlee, Jared Miley, Gene Knaub, Dylan Yoder
B-Main Winner:  Tim Wilson
Time Trials:  1) 72 Jason Covert 19.255  2) 10M Jared Miley 19.406  3) 22 Gregg Satterlee 19.411  4) F1 Coleby Frye 19.593  5) 119 Bryan Bernheisel 19.615  6) 66C Matt Cosner 19.652  7) 32 Shaun Jones  19.657  8) 11 Austin Hubbard 19.666  9) 24 Dylan Yoder 19.686  10) 9 Hayes Mattern 19.714  11) 1 Gene Knaub 19.748  12) 76 Andy Haus 19.871  13) 26 Jerry Bard 19.905  14) 43a Tyler Bare 19.945  15) 22 Brett Schadel 19.963  16) 11 Marvin Winters 19.983  17) 2J Jeff Rine 19.999  18) 1W Billly Wampler 20.051  19) 6 Donnie Schick 20.114  20) 74 Randy Christine 20.197  21) 31 Jim Bernheisel 20.241  22) 61 Ken Trevitz 20.276  23) 27 Jim Yoder  20.478  24) 3 Tim Wilson 20.569  25) 11 Jason Schmidt 20.590  26) 14Z Dave Brouse Jr. 20.606  27) 46 Dan Green 20.684  28) 59 Chad Julius 20.806  29) 63 Nathan Long 20.906  30) 121 Larry Neiderer 20.927   31) 11B Jake Buck 22.095  32) 14 Bill Conrad 22.523  33) 11B Jake Buck DNT
305 Sprint Cars– 25 Entries
20-Lap A-Main:  1) 99 Devin Adams  2) 36 Jaremi Hanson  3) 11 Zach Newlin  4) 67 Ken Duke  5) 95 Garrett Bard  6) 20 Doug Dobson  7) 17K Kyle Keen  8) 97 Kenny Heffner  9) 23 Nathan Gramley  10) 51 Dave Graber  11) 69 Landon Price  12) 71 Josh Spicer  13) 80 Dave Wickham  14) 79 Ian Cumens  15) 1Kruz Kepner  16) 2 Erin Statler  17) 56 Jake Frye  18) 24 Dan Leaper  19) 911 Mike Wenrick  20) 21M Cassandra Minium  21) 92 Dylan Proctor  22) 10 Jake Waters  23) 88 Fred Arnold  24) 107 Colton Hoover  25) 19B Will Brunson
Heat Winners:  Garrett Bard, Devin Adams, Kenny Heffner
Pro Stocks – 6 Entries
12-Lap A-Main:  1) Brandon Moser 2) 99 Kyle Bachman  3) 92 Shaun Lawton  4) 89 John Schoch  5) 00 Cory Long  6) 28 Jason Smith
Heat Winners:  Cory Long
Roadrunners – 16 Entries
12-Lap A-Main:  1) 7J Jake Jones  2) 15 Dustin Snook  3) 33 Curtis Lawton  4) 12 Tom Underwood  5) 1 Smith Cope  6) 3 Tom Brunson  7) 992 Terry Kramer  8) 2B Brian Mabus  9) 77 Scott Dunham  10) 44 Jim Collier  11) 28M Miranda Minium  12) 11 Keith Bissinger  13) K2 Jesse Krasnitsky  14) 14 Cory Lindenmuth  15) 76 Bob Bussey  16) 8 Will Brunson  17) 60 Jimmy Kessler
Heat Winners:  Jake Jones, Dustin Snook

No comments: