Sunday, August 25, 2019


Photo courtesy of Selinsgrove Speedway
SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Foss Jewelers Champions Night was presented Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway. 

Coleby Frye of Dover not only became a three-time winner at the track this season in the super late models but also clinched his first career track championship in the process. The $2,500 win in the 25-lap feature was also a Grit House Route 35 Challenge Race for the super late models that drew a 26-car field.

Colby Womer of Mt. Pleasant Mills won his first 360 sprint car race of the season while Kyle Reinhardt of Neptune City, N.J., scored his first track championship in the division with his seventh-place finish in the 25-lap feature.

Bob Bussey of Northumberland won his first roadrunner feature of the year with Jake Jones of Hunlock Creek crowned as the track champion. 

Brandon Moser of Middleburg remained undefeated in August by winning his fourth in a row and his seventh overall in the 15-lap pro stock race.  Shaun Lawton of Bloomsburg won his first track championship like his grandfather John Crawford did at the speedway in 1970.

Selinsgrove Speedway will be back in action next Sunday, Sept. 1st with the Selinsgrove Ford Summer Spectacular Ray Tilley Classic for 410 Sprint Cars plus the United Late Model Series, pro stocks, and roadrunners at 7 p.m. Gates will open at 4 p.m. There will be no racing on Saturday, Aug. 31..

Coming into the final points races of the season, Shaun Lawton in the pro stocks and Jake Jones in the roadrunners only had to take the green flag for each to claim his first track championship.

The 360 sprint cars and super late model point chases were a different story.  In the 360 sprint cars, Kyle Reinhardt held a 90 point advantage over former track champion Jason Shultz. Coleby Frye’s super late model edge was even closer, leading last year’s champ Bryan Bernheisel by just 40 points. To make things even tougher the late model race was part of the Grit House Route 35 Challenge Series with a full field of cars on hand.

Austin Bishop used the outside pole to grab the early sprint car lead followed by Colby Womer who blasted up the inside. Jake Hummel, Jason Shultz and Cody Keller followed.

Jason Wagner spun in turn four bring out the caution on lap five.

Womer dogged Bishop low but the high side was faster and Bishop held him off for several laps.

Womer finally grabbed the track off turn two on lap 15 to take the lead and immediately took off.  Two laps later, Ryan Kissinger passed for second and started to close on Womer.

Kissinger could not catch Womer who took his first win of the season.  Kissinger, Shultz, Chad Layton and Bishop rounded out the top five.

“It’s been a long, long, long, long time,” Womer said of his first win in several years.  “With two seconds, a sixth, and now a win, our team knew we were getting better but unless you’re standing here no one notices.”

Sprint car heats were won by Shultz and Layton.

Hayes Mattern shot into the late model feature race lead from the outside pole position and was followed by Dylan Yoder, Jeff Rine, Coleby Frye, and Brett Schadel. Dick Houtz spun on lap one bringing out the caution flag.  While the cars paced under caution the car of Dan Green erupted in flames bringing out the red flag.  Quickly on the scene, the track crew extinguished the flames and Green escaped injury.

Using the Delaware restart, Mattern maintained the lead from the outside lane while Yoder and Rine fought for second. Houtz spun again slowing the field.  Under caution, Rine pulled off of the speedway.

Frye blasted by Yoder for the runner up spot and a lap later passed Mattern off of turn four for the lead.  Following Frye into second was Bernheisel as the pair fought for the race win and track crown.

In clean air Frye was adding .1 seconds to his lead each lap.  At the midway point of the race his lead was 3.46 seconds.

As Bernheisel was trying to catch Frye, Yoder mounted a challenge until he was running second by lap 16. Yoder immediately started to make up ground and was soon right behind Frye.

Lapped traffic came into play for the duo When the yellow flew again on the final lap for Cody Lyter who stopped on the track, setting up a one lap shootout.

Frye led the last lap winning the race and the championship.

“I lost brakes during the race and just about hit a lapped car so I didn’t want to see the caution come out on the last lap,” Frye said.  “Our truck broke down twice on the way up tonight so i was already upset when we got here.”

Bryan Bernheisel, Yoder, Jim Bernheisel, and Mike Lupfer rounded out the top five.

Yoder, Mattern, and Schadel won the late model heats.  Bryan Bernheisel set fast time in group time trials at 19.983 seconds.

Scott Dunham used the outside groove to take the roadrunner lead followed by Bob Bussey, Will Brunson Curtis Lawton and Terry Kramer.

Bussey passed Dunham for the lead on the following lap.  A lap later Lawton was in second and Brunson followed into third.

Kramer soon joined the party and the four cars ran under a blanket.

Bussey held on for his first win of the season followed by Lawton, Brunson, Kramer and Jake Jones were in the top five.

Bussey and Tom Brunson won the Roadrunner heats.

Brandon Moser wrestled the lead from Kyle Bachman in the pro stock feature with Shaun Lawton, Corey Long, and John Schoch following.  Moser wired the field for his fourth win in a row.  Bachman, Lawton, Long, and Schoch rounded out the top five.

Moser won the pro stock heat.

360 Sprint Car Entries – 14 Entries
25-Lap A-Main:  1) 19 Colby Womer  2) 66 Ryan Kissinger  3) 29 Jason Shultz  4) 35 Chad Layton  5) 11 Austin Bishop   6) 77 Derek Locke  7) 1W Kyle Reinhardt  8) 99K Cody Keller  9) 6 Tyler Denochick  10) 1 Jake Hummel  11) 67 Jason Cherry   12) 17 Jason Wagner  13) 511 John Sharpe  14) 47 Adam Carberry
Heat Winners:  Jason Shultz, Chad Layton

Late Models – 26 Entries
25-Lap A-Main:  1) F1 Coleby Frye  2) 119 Bryan Bernheisel  3) 24 Dylan Yoder  4) 31 Jim Bernheisel  5) 06 Mike Lupfer  6) 6 Donnie Schick  7) 22 Brett Schadel  8) 27 Jim Yoder  9) 14Z Dave Brouse Jr.  10) 26 Jerry Bard  11) 3 Tim Wilson  12) 21M Matt Murphy  13) 63 Nathan Long  14) 11 Jason Schmidt  15) 000 Paul Cursey  16) 7M Meade Hahn  17) 121 Larry Neiderer  18) 0 Shaun gingrich  19) 14 Bill Conrad  20) 25 Kody Lyter  21) 9 Hayes Mattern  22) 7 Dick Houtz  23) 2J Jeff Rine  24) 46 Dan Green  25) 6N Brandon Libby  26) 11B Jake Buck
Heat Winners:  Dylan Yoder, Hayes Mattern, Brett Schadel

Pro Stocks – 5 Entries
10-Lap A-Main:  1) 8M Brandon Moser  2) 99 Kyle Bachman  3) 92 Shaun Lawton  4) 00 Cory Long  5) 89 John Schoch
Heat Winner:  Brandon Moser

Roadrunners – 17 Entries
12-Lap A-Main:  1) 76 Bob Bussey  2) 33 Curtis Lawton  3) 8 Will Brunson  4) 992 Terry Kramer  5) 7 Jake Jones  6) 1 Smith Cope  7) 12 Tom Underwood  8) 28 Miranda Minium  9) 11 Keith Bissinger  10) 32 Ken Schreffler  11) 60 Jimmy Kessler  12) 77 Scott Dunham  13) 63 Willy Holmes  14) 15 Dustin Snook  15) 3 Tom Brunson  16) 14 Cory Lindermuth  17) 2B Brian Mabus
Heat Winners:  Bob Bussey, Tom Brunson

No comments: