Sunday, July 26, 2020

Cochran Top of Class at Clinton County

Mill Hall, PA – Matt Cochran of Williamsport won his second career Limited Late Model feature event on Friday night over Jim Yoder.  In Pro Stock action, AJ Stroup claimed his second win of the season, while Timmy Bitner of Beech Creek won the 270 Micro Sprints, Josh Beamer won the 600 Micro Sprints and Tyler Watson won in the Four Cylinders.

Nick Loffredo of Avis and Kevin Probst were the front row starters of the 25 lap Limited Late Model feature event.   Loffredo took the lead at the drop of the green flag, while second row starters of Cochran and Joe Lusk of Jersey Shore battled for the runner up position.   Once Cochran confirmed his place in second, he pressured Loffredo for the lead.  On lap number nine, Cochran made the pass on Loffredo to take the top spot.  Jim Yoder, who started fifth, passed both Loffredo and Lusk on lap number ten to move into the runner up position.   At the midway point of the race, Cochran led Yoder, Lusk, Loffredo and Kevin Probst.   By lap number twenty, the leaders were into lapped traffic.  Cochran passed Jamin Chapman going down the backstretch to try and distance himself from Yoder.  Cochran went to win his first race of the year over Yoder, Probst, Lusk and Bryan Benton.  Sixth through tenth were Ben Whitaker, Ron Buttenfield, Cameron Benton, Denny Fourney and Matt Adams.  Heat races were won by Cochran and Benton.

Brandon Moser and Robert Tressler lead the field of Pro Stocks for the green flag.  Moser took charge of the field with fourth place starter AJ Stroup in second, AY Schilling in third, Timmy Dawson in fourth and Robert Tressler at the completion of lap number five.  Moser had a sizeable lead that was washed away when Brad Benton’s car abruptly stopped on the back stretch and collected Rich Fye in the incident on lap number 7.  On the restart, Stoup made the pass for the lead to claim his second win of the season.   Tommy Dawson passed Moser on lap number 12 to claim the runner up position with Moser, AY Schilling and Jason Smith rounding out the top five.  Sixth through tenth were Noah Jenson, Rich Fye, Kevin VanAmburg, Marc Biter and Rooster Peters.  Qualifiers were won by Moser and Smith.

Nick Whitesel and Mitchell Holden brought the field of 21 270 Micro Sprints to the green flag.  The red flag came out after the conclusion of lap number one when Matt Dixon’s car rolled over at the exit of turn number two.  Dixon’s car had no major damage and he was able to restart the race.   Following the restart, Troy Whitesel led the second lap before Lock Haven’s Jeffrey Weaver made a pass for the lead.  At the completion of lap number five, Weaver led Whitesel, Timmy Bitner, Troy Whitesel, and Bobby Sanso.  A caution occurred on lap number 7 when four cars tangled in turn number four.  On the restart Weaver and Bitner raced down the front stretch, and Bitner made the pass for the lead as the duo came out of turn number two.  Bitner, a high school student, pulled away from Weaver and was able to record his second career victory at the speedway over Weaver, Troy Whitesel, Nathan Bacon, and Sean McAndrew.  Sixth through tenth were Bobby Sanso, N. Whitesel, Kyler Stahl, Gary Keister and Logan Hammaker.  Heat races were won by Whitesel, Sanso and Stahl.

Josh Beamer advanced from this second row starting spot to lead the first lap of the 600 Micro Sprint Feature Event.   The caution came out on lap number three when Timmy Biter, stopped after hitting the front stretch wall.  Beamer continued to lead the way, with Cody Hauck, Tyson Mowery, Trevor Teats and Sierra Hauch in the top five.  Mowery moved into the runner up position on lap number 10 but was unable to chase down Beamer who led every lap to claim his first win on the season.  Mowery finished second followed by Teats, Hauck and Jeff Gyuina.  Sierra Hauck, Bob Bogart, Mitchell Holden, Jeffrey Weaver and Eric Leonard completed the top 10.  Heat races were won by Mowery and Weaver. 

Tyler Watson used his front row starting spot to claim the lead in the 4 Cylinder Feature event at the drop of the green flag.  Michael Boring advanced from the fifth spot and tried to reel in Watson.  Blake Snyder battled with Boring and took second at the completion of lap number 4.  Watson led all 15 laps to win his first career race.  Blake Snyder was second, Boring was third, Jimmy Delozier was fourth and Skylar Witchely completed the top give.  Michael Luther, Chris Orwig, Shawn Wise Chelsie Harris, and Maddox Smith completed the top ten.  Heat races were won by Watson and Boring.

The Clinton County Speedway returns to racing this Friday night for another 5 division racing program. The Laurel Highlands RaceSaver Sprint will be the featured division along with the Pro Stocks, 270 Micro Sprints, 600 Micro Sprints and 4 Cylinders.  Gates will open at 5:15PM and Racing will begin at 7:30PM.  The Speedway will then feature 2 races in once week beginning in August with a special Wednesday night event for the 270s, 600s, Pro Stock and Four-Cylinders.  The special mid-week event typically coincides with the annual Clinton County Fair that was cancelled earlier in the year.  For more information, visit or visit the speedway on Facebook


Limited Late Models:  1. Matt Cochran 2. Jim Yoder 3. Kevin Probst 4. Joe Lusk 5 Bryan Benton 6. Ben Whitaker 7. Ron Buttenfield 8. Cameron Benton 9 Denny Fourney 10 Matt Adams 11. Mike Smith 12. Joe Loffredo 13. Tim Luben 14. Denny Rinehimer 15.  Jamin Chapman 15. Nick Loffredo 16. JR Toner 17. Levi Ardery

Pro Stocks: 1. AJ Stroup 2. Tommy Dawson 3. Brandon Moser 4. AY Schilling 5. Jason Smith 6. Noah Jenson 7. Rich Fye 8. Kevin VanAmburg 9. Marc Bitler 10. Rooster Peters 11. Robert Tressler 12. Brad Benton 13. Todd Geyer Sr.

270 Micros: 1. Timmy Bitner 2. Jeffrey Weaver 3. Troy Whitsel 4. Nathan Bacon 5. Sean McAndrew 6. Bobby Sanso 7. Nick Whitesel 8. Kyler Sthal 9. Gary Keister 10. Logan Hammaker 11. Dan Wertman 12. John Roberts 13. Matt Dixon 14. Shawn Musser 15. Denny Rinehimer 16. Ethan Spots 17. Hunter Zimmerman 18. Mitchel Holden 19. Dustin Roberts 20. Kris Stahl DNS. Doug Reinhard

600 Micros: 1. Josh Beamer 2. Tyson Mowery 3. Trevor Teats 4. Cody Hauch 5. Jeff Gyunia 6. Sierra Hauch 7. Bob Bogart 8.Mitchel Holden 9. Jeffrey Weaver 10. Eric Leonard 11. Timmy Bitner

4 Cylinders: 1. Tyler Watson 2. Blake Snyder 3. Michael Boring 4. Jimmy Delozier 5. Skylar Whitchley 6. Michael Luther 7. Chris Orwig 8. Shawn Wise 9. Chelsie Harris 10. Maddox Smith DNS: Zachery Rill, Kennedey Courter, Ernie Harris

No comments: