Sunday, July 12, 2020

Schweikart Claims Victory at the Line Over Zionkowski

Mill Hall, PA – Dale Schweikart of Linden made a last lap pass to claim the Laurel Highlands RaceSaver Sprint Car feature by .202 seconds over Jared Zionkowski in a thrilling finish.  The win was the second of the season for Schweikart.  Other winners of the night included Bradly Benton in the Pro Stocks, Mike Thompson in the 600 Micro Sprints, Bobby Sanso of Jersey Shore in the 270 micro sprints and Cody Stover the in the 4 Cylinder Division.

Ryan Lynn and Greg Dobrosky paced the field for the start of 25 lap Sprint Car feature event presented by Gary’s Motor Mart.  Dobrosky took the early lead with Lock Haven’s Dillon Proctor, Lynn, Jared Zionkowski and Jeff Weaver in the top five.   The red flag came on out on lap number 2 when Cruz Kepner rolled his car in turn four.  With the restart, Dobrosky held off the challenges from Proctor and began to encounter lapped traffic by the ninth circuit.  Schweikart, who started eleventh, fought his way into the top five on lap number 13, meanwhile Proctor and Zionkowski were in a contested battle for the runner up position.  Zionkowski moved into second on lap number 15.

Dobrosky held a comfortable lead as Zionkowski tried to reel in the race leader.   On the white flag lap, Andrew Boyer’s car stopped on the front stretch setting up a last lap dash to the checkered flag.   Dobrosky restarted with Zionkowski, Schweikart, Proctor and Tylor Cochran in the top five.  As the leaders raced into turns one and two, Dobrosky’s car got sideways with Zionkowski in hot pursuit. Zionkowski and Schweikart passed Dobrosky and raced hard into turns three and four, with Proctor, Cochran, and Scott Lutz in the mix.  Coming out of turn four Schweikart and Zionkowski raced to the finish line with Schweikart claiming the victory by .202 second, as Tyler Cochran flipped his car in turn four bringing out the red with the checkered.  Finishing third was Proctor, Dobrosky finished fourth and Lutz completed the top five.  Sixth through tenth were Lyons, John Walp, Garret Bard, Jeffrey Weaver and Matt Tebbs.  Heat races were won by Proctor and Schweikart.

Brad Myers and Brandon Moser brought the field of Pro Stocks to the green flag.  Moser took the top position away by the completion of lap number 2.  Moser began to pull away from the field with Meyer, Rich Fye, Brad Benton and A.Y. Schilling in the top 5.  On lap number 8, Benton moved into the runner up position.  Moser seemed to be on his way to an easy victory, when his car broke coming out of turn four on lap 13.  Benton inherited the lead and had to hold off the challenges of Kevin VanAmburg, Schilling, Meyers and Fye for the win.  Sixth through tenth were Tommy Dawson, Wayne Shaffer, Noah Jensen, Todd Geyer and Brandon Moser.  Heats were won by AJ Stroup and Benton.

 Timmy Bitner of Beach Creek led the field of Werner Fuels 600 Micro Sprints to the green flag with Jeff Weaver, Cody Hauck, Trevor Teats, and Mike Thompson in the top five.   Teats moved into third on lap three and took over second by the fourth circuit.  Weaver’s car slowed on lap number 5 and went to the pits for repairs.  At the midway point, Bitter lead a hard charging Thompson.  Thompson made the pass for the lead on lap number nine.   Teats took over the runner up position on lap number 11 but wasn’t able to pass Thompson.   Thompson claimed his first win of the season at Clinton County followed by Teats, Bittner, Tyson Mowery, and Mason Peters.  Sixth through tenth were Bob Bogart, Derek Swartz, Mitchell Holden, Jeff Weaver and Sierra Weaver.  Heat Races were won by Garret Bard and Cody Hauck.

Bobby Sanso of Jersey Shore led every lap of the 15 lap 270 Micro Sprint Feature.  The second generation driver held off early race challenges from Timmy Bitner and Jeffrey Weaver.  Weaver’s car suffered mechanical issues on lap number 5 to bring out the caution.  Sanso held Bitter off on the restart with Ethan Spotts in third Zachery Glass and Mike Rutherford in the top five. A caution came out with two laps remaining.  Sano raced the final two laps to claim his first win of the season over Bitter, Spotts, Zachary Glass and Cameron Smith.  Sixth through tenth were Rineheimer, Dan Wertman, Kyler Stahl, Buddy Kramer and Logan Hammaker.   Qualifiers were won by Sanso and Weaver.

Cody Stover took the lead on the initial lap of the four cylinder feature event.  The events only caution occurred when two-time winner Maddox Smith came to a stop after losing a front wheel.  Stover led Blake Snyder and Kennedey Courter at the halfway point.  Stover lead every lap for the victory, Courter passed Snyder on the final lap to claim second.   Fourth was Chelsie Harris and Michael Luther was fifth.  Sixth through tenth were Skylar Whitchley, Maddox Smith Tyler Watson, Michael Boring and Zachary Rill.  Heat race winners were Snyder and Smith.

Kid’s bicycle races were held at intermission, winners were Dylan Martin of Evendale (6 and under); Takoda Ripka of Milesburg (7-10) and Keron Yerger of Loganton (11-15).

The Clinton County Speedway returns to racing this Friday night for another 5 division racing program. Limited Late Models, Pro Stock, 270 Micro Sprints, 600 Micro Sprint and 4 Cylinders will be the featured 5 divisions.   Gates will open at 5:15PM and Racing will begin at 7:30PM.  For more information, visit or visit the speedway on Facebook


Sprint Cars:  1. Dale Schweikart 2. Jared Zionkowski 3. Dylan Proctor 4. Greg Dobrosky 5. Scott Lutz 6. Ryan Lynn 7. John Walp 8. Garret Bard 9. Jeffrey Weaver 10. Matt Tebbs 11. Reed Thompson 12. Kristina Pratt 13. Brody Adamasky 14. Tylor Cochran 15. Andrew Boyer 16. Chris Kreider 17. Kruz Kepner 18. Dakota Schweikart 19. Josh Beamer  DNS: Jim Kennedy

Pro Stocks: 1. Bradley Benton 2. Kevin VanAmburg 3. AY Schilling 4. Brad Myers 5. Rich Fye 6. Tommy Dawson 7. Wayne Staffer 8. Noah Jenson 9. Todd Geyer Sr. 10. Brandon Moser 11. AJ Stroup

600 Micros: 1. Mike Thompson 2. Trevor Teats 3. Timmy Bitner 4. Tyson Mowery 5. Mason Peters 6. Bob Bogart 7. Derek Swartz 8. Mitchel Holden 9. Jeffrey Weaver 10. Sierra Hauch 11. Brock Puterbaugh 12. Garret Bard 13. Cody Hauck 14. Eric Leonard

270 Micros: 1. Bobby Sanso 2. Timmy Bitner 3. Ethan Spotts 4. Zachary Glass 5. Cameron Smith 6. Denny Rinehimer 7. Dan Wertman 8. Kyler Stahl 9. Buddy Kramer 10. Logan Hammaker 11. Hunter Zimmerman 12. Mathew Dixson 13. Mike Rutherford 14. Jeffrey Weaver 15. Doug Reinard DNS Shaun Musser, Mitchel Holden.

4 Cylinders: 1. Cody Stover 2. Kennedey Courter 3. Blake Snyder 4. Chelsie Harris 5. Michel Luther 6. Skylar Whitchley 7. Maddox Smith 8. Tyler Watson 9. Michael Boring 10. Zachary Rill 11. Jeff Lamborn 12. Jimmy Deiozier

No comments: