Friday, August 14, 2020

Goetz is Great at Skagit Speedway

 Alger, WA - The latest edition of Skagit Speedway TV watched Chase Goetz grab the victory in an entertaining 25 lap Cook Road Shell Sportsman Sprint main event on Thursday night at the 66 year old clay oval. Joining Goetz as winners on the night were Jared Peterson and Colin Sims.

John Tharp set out to the early lead in the A Feature with Goetz behind him by two car lengths. Goetz was content to run the top and bide his time early, until taking a shot at Tharp on the low side on turn one at the start of lap six. Finding good forward bite, Goetz pulled even with Tharp on the back stretch and passed him through the third and fourth turns in what ended up being the race winning move. From there forward, Goetz was untouchable as he went the rest of the distance to take the win without challenge. Tharp and Jesse Schlotfeldt engaged in an entertaining battle for second place within slower traffic before contact with a slower car caught Tharp coming to the checkered flag, allowing Schlotfeldt to take second with Kelsey Carpenter moving into third.

For the fifth time with the series on the year and third time at Skagit Speedway, Jared Peterson took the victory in the NW Focus Midgets. Nik Larson held the lead for the first 11 laps before drifting too high through turn two and jumping the cushion, allowing Peterson past for the top spot. Peterson would keep Larson at bay until a lap 22 restart bunched the field back up. On that restart, Jared nailed his marks and drove away for the comfortable win, while Larson slipped a few spots on the restart, allowing Shane Smith to move into second and Nick Evans into third for the finish.

After watching his parents compete at Skagit Speedway for many years, Colin Sims became the first in the family to grace victory lane by scoring the win in the Outlaw Tuners. After taking the lead on lap two, Sims outraced Rick Young and Howard Vos for the triumph.

Cook Road Shell Sportsman Sprints

Fast Time - Kelsey Carpenter 12.459

Heat 1 - Sean Johnson

Heat 2 - Brett McGhie

Heat 3 - Cory Swatzina

Main - Chase Goetz, Jesse Schlotfeldt, Kelsey Carpenter, Sean Johnson, Cory Swatzina, Brett McGhie, Eric Turner, Steve Parker, Bill Rude, Matt Loving, John Tharp, Tom Weiss, Daniel Cernich, Kyle Hanson, Gunnar Martin, Corey Summers, Ashleigh Johnson, Jamee Gardner

Lap Leaders - Tharp 1-5 Goetz 6-25

Hard Charger - Turner +5

NW Focus Midgets

Heat 1 - Nick Evans

Heat 2 - Levi Harless

Heat 3 - Jared Peterson

Main - Jared Peterson, Shane Smith, Nick Evans, Ashley Thompson, JD Dryden, Nik Larson, Seth Hespe, Brian Holmkvist, Alex Peck, Marty Rosler, Jesse Conway, Jesse Munn, Jake Munn, Guy Tow Jr, Levi Harless

Lap Leaders - Larson 1-11 Peterson 12-25

Outlaw Tuners

Heat 1 - Zach Dalrymple

Heat 2 - Jon Edwards

Main - Colin Sims, Rick Young, Howard Vos, Zach Dalrymple, Jon Edwards, Tricia Michelson, Mike Mcpherson, Mike Thomas, Jon Gunderson

Lap Leaders - Thomas 1 Sims 2-17

No comments: