Sunday, May 02, 2021

Yoder Wins Late Models while Moser and Smith Repeat at Clinton County Speedway


Mill Hall, PA – Andrew Yoder of Selinsgrove led every lap of the 25 lap Limited Late Model feature to claim 17th career win and his first win of the season at the Clinton County Speedway.  Brandon Moser of Millerstown and Johnny Smith of Scranton were repeat winners in the Pro Stocks and 600 Micro Sprints.  Jeffrey Weaver of Lock Haven won the 270 Micro Sprints, Blake Snyder of Montgomery won the 4-Cylinders and Chloe Smith won the Junior 4-Cylinder division.

Joe Lusk of Jersey Shore and Yoder started on the front row of the 25 lap feature event.   The duo raced side by side into turn number one at the drop of the green flag.  “I knew Joe would be hard to pass,” said Yoder “I tried the outside and hoped that it would stick.”  Yoder’s pass worked and allowed him to choose his preferred line in the middle of the track as they raced through turns three and four.    Yoder began to encounter lapped traffic on lap number seven, with Lusk, Jim Yoder of Selinsgrove, Tim Luben of Mill Hall and Mike Smith of Renovo in the top give.   Yoder was able to open up a half a straight-a-way lead over Lusk.  At the race's half-way point, Yoder was trying to work through lapped traffic, and Lusk began to close in on the leader.  The caution flag waved on lap number 14, when Len Stroud of Jersey Shore spun in turn number 4.  

Yoder had a flawless restart and continued to lead the remaining laps to earn the victory.  Lusk finished second, followed by Jim Yoder, Mike Smith, Joe Loffredo.  Denny Fourney of Lock Haven was sixth, Tim Luben was seventh, Len Stroud was eighth and Kaiden Bard was nineth.  Heats were won by Andrew Yoder and Jim Yoder. 

Skeetz Hockenbrock and Jeffrey Weaver led the field of 21 270-Micro Sprints to the green flag.  Hockenbrock took the early lead with Weaver in close pursuit followed by Denny Rinehimer of Bloomsburg, Zach Glass, and Ethan Rotz of Spring Run.  Weaver passed Hockenbrock to lead lap number four.  Rotz, who was last week’s feature winner, passed Glass on lap number 7 for the fourth position.  Weaver and Hockenbrock began to encounter lapped traffic in the closing laps of the race.  Rinehimer was battling with Rotz and Glass. On the final lap Rinehimer drifted high coming out of turn number two and lost two positions, allowing Rotz and Glass to move into the third and fourth positions.  The win for Weaver was his 30th career victory in 270 Micro Sprint competition.  Sixth through tenth were Aidan Adams, Bobby Sanso, Dan Wertman, Logan Hammaker and Matthew Dixson.  Heat races were won by Hockenbrock, Weaver and Timmy Bittner.

Nate Stroup and Noah Jensen of Nescopeck comprised the front row of the 15 lap Pro Stock feature event.  Jensen took the early command of the field.  By lap number five, 4th place starter Brandon Moser took the runner up position from Stroup and set his sites on Jensen while Jason Gessman and AY Schilling were running in the top five.  The caution flag came out on lap number 7 for Brad Myers, Kevin VanAmburg and Gary Mellott.  Moser restarted along side of Jensen as they battled for lead racing into

turns 1 and 2.  Moser took the lead at the completion of lap number eight.   On lap ten, a second caution came out for Brad Benton who slowed on the front stretch.   Moser continued to lead following the restart, while Jensen was trying everything to get by the leader.  On lap number 13, Jensen brushed against the front stretch wall, allowing several cars to get by him.   At the checkered flag it was Moser with the win over Gessman, Schilling, Corey Long, and Stroup.  Sixth through tenth were Jensen, Robert Tressler, Rich Fye, Rooster Peters, and Gary Mellott.  Heat races were won by Long and Gessman.

In 600 Micro Sprint action, Jeffrey Weaver and his sister, Sierra Weaver Hauck started on the front row of the feature event.   Jeffrey led the opening lap, with third place starter, Johnny Smith running second.  Smith made the winning pass on Weaver by the completion of lap number two with Sierra Hauck, Timmy Bittner and Cody Hauck rounding out the top five.  Bitner moved into the third position on lap number eight.  On lap number eleven, the caution came out when Bitner’s car blew an engine. 

The caution caused a one lap shootout to the finish.  Smith held off the challenges of Weaver to claim his second win a row.  Weaver finished second, Cody Hauck was third followed by Sierra Hauck and Dustin Roberts.  The heat race was won by Jeffrey Weaver.

Blake Snyder and Keith Haggen started on the front row of the 4-Cylinder feature event.   Snyder took the early lead and battled with Dylan Craft. Craft was credited with leading the third lap, but Snyder powered by Craft to regain the lead on lap number 4.   Haggen moved back into the runner up position on the same lap. Mike Luther challenged Haggen for the runner up position and eventually moved into second on lap number 9.  The duo continued in a contested race for second, with Haggen making a last lap pass to finish second behind Snyder.  Luther finished third, Kris Shirk was fourth and Dylan Craft finished fifth.  Sixth through tenth were Nick Goutile, Chris Small, Brett Shirk, Skylar Witchley, and Seth Derr.  Heats were won by Snyder and Haggen.

In the junior 4-Cylinder division, Chloe Smith was the feature winner.


The Clinton County Speedway returns with racing this Friday night for another 5 division racing program. The Laurel Highlands RaceSaver Sprint Cars, Pro Stock, 270 Micro Sprints, 600 Micro Sprint and 4 Cylinders will be the featured 5 divisions.   Gates will open at 5:00PM and Racing will begin at 7:30PM.  For more information, visit or visit the speedway on Facebook



Limited Late Model: 1. Andrew Yoder 2. Joe Lusk 3. Jim Yoder 4. Mike Smith 5. Joe Loffredo 6. Denny Fourney 7. Tim Luben 8. Len Stroud, Sr.  DNS: Nick Loffredo, Kaiden Bard

Pro Stocks: 1. Brandon Moser 2. Jason Geesman 3. AY Schilling 4. Cory Long 5. Nathan Stroup 6. Noah Jensen 7. Robert Tressler 8. Rich Fye 9. Rooster Peters 10. Gary Mellott 11. Brad Myers 12. Kris Orwig, Sr. 13. Todd Geyer Sr. 14. Brad Benton 15. Logan Hile 16. Ray Rothfuss 17. Kevin VanAmburg

270 Micro Sprints: 1. Jeffrey Weaver 2. Skeetz Hockenbrock 3. Wyatt Rotz 4. Zachary Glass 5. Denny Rinehimer 6. Aidan Adams 7. Bobby Sanso 8. Dan Wertman 9. Logan Hammaker 10 Matthew Dixson 11. Tom Quiggle 12. Michell Holden 13. Rich Damore 14. Timmy Bittner 15. Hunter Zimmerman DNS James Bilger, Levi Brungard, Shaun Musser, Cory Stabley, Buddy Kramer, Tyler Puterbaugh

600 Micro Sprints: 1. Johnny Smith 2. Jeffrey Weaver 3. Cody Hauck 4 Sierra Hauck 5. Dustin Roberts 6. Mitchell Holden 7. Timmy Bittner DNS Brock Puterbuagh

4 Cylinders: 1. Blake Snyder 2. Keith Haggen 3. Mike Luther 4. Kris Shirk 5. Dylan Craft 6. Nick Goutile 7. Chris Small 8. Brett Shirk 9. Skylar Witchley 10. Seth Derr 11. Cody Stover 12. Maddox Smith 13. Tim Muthler 14. Melvin Wiser 15. John Bainey16. Mike Hepler DNS Scott Englert, Kyle Strouse, Caden Kennedy

Jr. 4-Cylinders: 1. Chloe Smith 2. Tanner Baney 3. Chelsea Cochran 4. Coty Maines DNS Emily Brouse

No comments: