Saturday, June 05, 2021

Smith Edges Sprint Field; Norris and McPherson Dominate; King Sr. Tops Modifieds


Sarver, PA (June 5, 2021) Western Pennsylvania Sprint Speedweek got off to a tremendous start on Friday night at Lernerville Speedway as 37 cars graced the pits featuring a number of stout invaders. Kunkletown, Pennsylvania’s Ryan Smith had very little seat time at The Action Track in his career, but somehow seemed quite at home as he led from wire to wire while fending off a hard challenge from defending track champion AJ Flick in the 30 lap, $3,000 to win main event, capturing the early points lead in the series in the process.

Meanwhile, it was business as usual for The Crusher Kid as Mike Norris took yet another feature victory in Precise Racing Products Late Model action. Norris redrew himself on the front row and took advantage of it while never looking back in collecting the feature victory which carried an extra $1,000 bonus to win courtesy of Thrower Concrete Services. Rex King Sr. patiently waited out the early battle for the lead between Dave Murdick and defending track champion Garrett Krummert until the opportune moment, near the halfway point of the 25 lap Diehl Automotive Big Block Modified feature and made his move, vaulting from the third spot to the lead in the same lap and kept the field behind him the rest of the way in collecting his first Lernerville feature victory of the season.

And in the Millerstown Pic-A-Part Penn/Ohio Pro Stocks, Corey McPherson wired the field in dominating fashion, leading from start to finish to collect his 49th career Lernerville victory. Friday night was also Autism Awareness night as numerous raffles and auctions could be found all over the councourse and in the grandstands with all proceeds going to benefit the Autism Society of Pittburgh.

Racing returns next Friday night as we host our annual Fan Appreciation Night with fireworks presented by #1 Cochran Automotive. The Fab4 Revved Up with Marburger Farm Dairy featuring the Peoples Natural Gas Sprint Cars, Precise Racing Products Late Models, Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds and Millerstown Pic-A-Part Penn/Ohio Pro Stocks will once again take center stage as we approach the midpoint of our weekly racing season.

Peoples Natural Gas DIRTcar  Sprint Feature: (30 Laps)*Western PA Sprint Speedweek

(6R) Ryan Smith
(2) AJ Flick
(13) Brandon Matus
(29) Michael Bauer
(81) Lee Jacobs
(33) Brent Matus
(17) Josh Baughman
(23jr) Jack Sodeman Jr.
(20B) Cody Bova
(49M) Bradley Howard
(6) Bob Felmlee
(40) George Hobaugh
(22) Brandon Spithaler
(56) Ralph Spithaler
(19M) Landon Myers
(21N) Frankie Nervo
(10P) Colby Womer
(79) Nick Tucker
(31c) Chase Metheney
(55) Matt Sherlock
(12) Darin Gallagher
(27K) Jeremy Kornbau
(11) Carl Bowser
(42) Sye Lynch
Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models Feature: (25 Laps)

(02) Michael Norris
(10M) Jared Miley
(1C) Alex Ferree
(10) Gary Lyle
(91) Tommy Beck
(29) Ken Schaltenbrand
(15*) Kelvin Kohan
(81) Mike Miller
(48) Colton Flinner
(11) Joshua Powell
(9T) Will Thomas
(9) Levi Yetter
(9K) Clayton Kennedy
(14R) Clay Ruffo
(33X) Eric Hamilton
(01H) Ron Hall
(77) Tyler Dietz
(26) Shawn Schaltenbrand
(41) Collin Burke
Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Northeast Big Block Modified Feature: (25 Laps)

(65) Rex King Sr.
(83) Brian Swartzlander
(165) Rex King Jr.
(37MD) Jeremiah Shingledecker
(29) Garrett Krummert
(4J) John Mollick
(61) Dave Murdick
(45) Steve Feder
(18) Colton Walters
(13) Rick Regalski
(32R) Chris Rudolph
(18M) J.R. McGinley
(3K) Shawn Kozar
(5) Brian Sadler
(22) Kevin Long
(7) Caden Pedry
(18X) Eric Gabany (DNS)
(35) Steve Slater (DNS)
Millerstown Pic-A-Part Penn/Ohio Pro Stocks Feature: (20 Laps)

(C33) Corey McPherson
(948) Joey Zambotti
(27) Jake Dietz
(66) Joe Kelley
(81) Mike Miller
(22) Chase Lambert
(25) Brett McDonald
(310) Dale Tuche
(26) Mike Bordt
(54E) Tony Iarrapino
(22B) James Bertges
(35B) Tyler Dietz
(99T) Theo Baumgartner
(8c) Brand Doland
(25) Andrew Gordon

No comments: