Monday, October 11, 2021

Dylan Yoder Takes Super Late Model Finale at Clinton County Speedway


Mill Hall, PA – Selinsgrove’s Dylan Yoder topped the field of Super Late Models during the Season Finale at the Clinton County Speedway presented by Strouse Electric. It was his second consecutive “Super 50” victory at the 3/8th mile oval as he was also the 2020 winner. Dennis Cummins won the Pro Stocks; Adrian Shaffer won the 270 Micros and Joe May won the 4 Cylinder event.

Hayes Mattern and Dylan Yoder started on the front row as a result of the redraw. Yoder took command of the field from the drop of the green flag while Mattern battled with Jim Yoder for the runner up position. By lap number ten, Yoder began to encounter lapped traffic with Mattern, Jim Yoder, Dylan Cecce and Wyatt Scott running in the top five.

The first caution of the event occurred on lap number 18, when Tim Luben spun his car in turn number two. Following the restart Yoder continued to hold the top position as Scott passed Cecce for the fourth position. On lap 20, Scott passed Jim Yoder for the third position as Matt Cochran moved into the top five.

By lap number 30, Yoder was working his way through lapped traffic once again, as Scott took the runner up position, Mattern was third, Matt Cochran was fourth and Andrew Yoder completed the top five. Cochran advanced into the third position on lap number 34. On lap number 43, the caution waived for Tim Luben as his car slowed due to an engine issue. The restart had Yoder, Scott, Cochran, Andrew Yoder and Mattern as the top five. On lap number 47, Cochran pulled his car into the pit area.

On the final lap, the yellow flag waved when Mike Smith stopped on the outside of the second turn. When the race resumed, Yoder was able to hold off Scott for the win. Andrew Yoder made a last lap pass to take third from Mattern while Jim Yoder completed the top five. Sixth through tenth were. Tim Smith Jr. Rod Phillips, Dylan Cecce, Joe Loffredo and Del Rougeux. Heat races were won by Andrew Yoder and Dylan Yoder. Fast time was set by Wyatt Scott with a time of 13.864 seconds.

AJ Stoup and Dennis Cummins started on the front row of the twenty lap pro stock main event. Cummins took the early lead with Stroup trying to chase him down. After five laps, Cummins led Stroup, Kurt Way, Robert Tressler and Mike Gray. Tressler took the third position on lap number ten. On lap number 14, Cummins entered lapped traffic. Cummins continued to pace the field for his first victory of the year over Stroup, Tressler, Way and Dave Courter. Stroup and Cummins won heat races.

Jillian Maurer and Timmy Bittner were the front row starters of the 270 Micro Sprint main event. Bittner took the early lead with fourth place starter Adrian Shaffer running in second followed by Shaun Musser, Skeetz Hockenbrock and Jillian Maurer. On lap number ten, Shaffer made the winning pass going down the back stretch. While running third, Muser’s car broke to bring out the caution, moving Hockenbrock up to third, Maurer up to fourth and Hunter Zimmerman moved into the top five. Zimmerman took over fourth place on lap number eighteen. The top five remained unchanged when the checkered flag waved, with Shaffer claiming the win. Sixth through tenth were Evan Dickey, Levi Brungard, Shaun Musser, Corey Stabley and Rich Damore. Heat races were won by Musser and Shaffer.

In the Four Cylinder main event, Dylan Craft started on the pole position and took the lead at the drop of the green flag. Cody Stover moved into second place with Zak Kline running in third, Blake Snyder fourth and Shawn Stahl in the top five. On lap number 10, the top two got together to bring out the caution.

Joe May restarted the race with Stahl, Ryan Unger, Hunter Flook and Kline in the top five. By lap number 15, Flook was running in the second position, while Craft rebounded into the top five. May held on to win his first career race over Flook, Craft, Unger, and Kline. Sixth through tenth were Stover, Eric Brungard, Blake Snyder, Ernie Shilko, and Shane Wagner. Heats were won by Stahl, May and Mike Under. The consy was won by Shane Wagner.

For speedway information during the off season visit the speedway website at or follow us on Facebook.  

No comments: