Sunday, August 16, 2015


ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 8/15/2015 – Rookie driver Chase Dietz fulfilled a life-long dream by claiming his first career 410 sprint car feature win during Premier Auto Works/Auto Locator Night at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.

After normal qualifying and a unique set of two-car match races for the top 12 starters, the 2014 Lincoln “358” champ started fifth in the feature event.

Polesitter Jordan Mackison took the lead at the outset from outside front row starter Scott Fisher and led the first ten laps before Dietz nosed in front of him at the start-finish line, just before the lone caution flag of the race came out for a spinning Cory Haas in turn four of lap 11.

Because half the field wasn’t by, the lap didn’t count but Dietz’s pass for the lead did.

“I was sitting there under the caution and couldn’t believe I was in front,” said a jubilant Dietz after exiting his Scott Gobrecht-owned Bad Boy Buggies/Golf Cart Services/H&H Excavating Services #44 in victory lane, “We kept plugging away and I was kinda hoping we’d hit lapped traffic so that they would block for me a little bit.”

“After last night,” continued Dietz, “This race is definitely for Jim Campbell and the whole racing community. It’s tough to see that happen, but we all know what could happen when we strap in these race cars. It’s just a passion of ours. We all send prayers and thoughts out to the whole family. It’s just part of racing, but we just hope we never see it again.”

“We were racing with Jordan for the lead and I thought I was going spin out there a couple of times. It wasn’t the best I could have done getting up through. But we only have about 20 races on this thing, and it’s definitely a handful…especially when you’re getting excited going for the lead,” said Dietz, “It doesn’t matter what your in or where you are in any event here…it’s so tough. It’s a great accomplishment to be sitting here where all these legends have been. It’s an amazing feeling.”

After the 11th-lap caution, Dietz drove flawlessly through lapped traffic over the final 15 laps, holding off serious challenges by Adam Wilt, Alan Krimes, and Brian Montieth as the leaders raced through lapped traffic over the final ten laps. Montieth caught Krimes for third with three laps to go. Though he tried unsuccessful sliders on two occasions, fourth-starting Wilt was unable to make the pass and crossed 1.44 seconds behind Dietz.

“We talked to Scott earlier in the year, and he decided he wanted to put me in the car. I told him I didn’t know why he wanted to put a 17-year-old rookie in the car and spend all that money to give me this dream. I’m so fortunate,” reflected Dietz, “I have so many great people behind me. I can’t thank Scott, his family, and my family enough for giving me this opportunity.”

Mackison completed his best-ever Lincoln run in fifth, with Jim Siegel, Tim Glatfelter, Austin Hogue, Tyler Ross, and Billy Dietrich rounding out the top ten.

Heats for the 25 410’s on hand were won by Robbie Kendall, Dietz, and Krimes.

Lincoln swings back into action with a special mid-week show this Wednesday, August 19th, at 7:30 PM with the USAC Dirt Midgets (co-sanctioned by ARDC) coming to Central Pennsylvania. Central PA Legends will round out the evenings racing program which will see the gates open at 5:30 PM, and time trials getting underway at 7:30 PM.

Then next Saturday night, August 22, 2015 it will BAPS NIGHT featuring the 410 Sprints, 358 Sprints and All-American Outlaws. Gates open at 5:30 PM with racing action getting underway at 7:30 PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway's website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania's "Premier" Saturday night race track - The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

Saturday, August 15, 2015
Abbottstown, PA
410 SPRINT FEATURE FINISH (25 laps) – 1. 44-Chase Dietz; 2. 15-Adam Wilt; 3. 21-Brian Montieth; 4. 87-Alan Krimes; 5. 1080-Jordan Mackison; 6. 59-Jim Siegel; 7. 39-Tim Glatfelter; 8. 52-Austin Hogue; 9. 5-Tyler Ross; 10. 8-Billy Dietrich; 11. 21t-Scott Fisher; 12. 11c-Cory Haas, 13. 1*-Tim Wagaman, 14. 99m-Kyle Moody; 15. 3b-Randy Baughman; 16. 2w-Joey Allen; 17, 91-David Quackenbush; 18. 10-Zach Eucalano; 19. 74-Dwayne Gutshall; 20. 37-J.J. Grasso (DNF); 21. 15m-Bobby Mazingo (DNF); 22. 55k-Robbie Kendall (DNF); DNS - 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr., 3w-Hunter Mackison. No Time

Lap Leaders – Jordon Mackison (1-10), Chase Dietz (11-25)

410 Sprint Heat One Finish (10 laps/6 qualify) - 1. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 2. 3B-Randy Baughman; 3. 15-Adam Wilt; 4. 2W-Joey Allen; 5. 8-Billy Dietrich; 6. 39-Tim Glatfelter; 7. 1*-Tim Wagaman; 8. 91-David Quackenbush; 9. 3W-Hunter Mackison. Time – 2:20.692

410 Sprint Heat Two Finish (10 laps/6 qualify) - 1. 44-Chase Dietz; 2. 21-Brian Montieth; 3. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 4. 37-JJ Grasso; 5. 59-Jim Siegel; 6. 5-Tyler Ross; 7. 99M-Kyle Moody; 8. 10-Zach Euculano. Time – 2:18.437

410 Sprint Heat Three Finish (10 laps/6 qualify) - 1. 87-Alan Krimes; 2. 11C-Cory Haas; 3. 21T-Scot Fisher; 4. 1080-Jordan Mackison; 5. 52-Austin Hogue; 6. 74-Dwayne Gutshall; 7. 15M-Bobby Mazingo (DNF); DNS – 56-Sam Schlosberg. Time – 2:23.86

No comments: